Oakland is Closing

DSC00118

Oakland is closing. My Oakland store is closing. The store where I got my first ballet shoes, where I went up on pointe for the first time. I found out today, and while I was surprised I didn’t start to really feel what a loss this is until now. What hit me first was the obvious “will I need to find a new job”, but the more I think about it the more it makes me want to cry. I have spent the past seventeen years of my life coming to this store for all things dance and now it will be gone forever. A part of my childhood is being sold for 30% off, excluding shoes and hair products.

I’ve seen You’ve Got Mail about a hundred times, it’s definitely my favorite Meg Ryan/Tom Hanks flick (Sleepless in Seattle sucks). In it there’s this one email that Meg sends to Tom that so perfectly sums up what I want to say that I won’t even try to paraphrase:

People are always telling you that change is a good thing. But all they’re really saying is that something you didn’t want to happen at all… has happened. My store is closing this week. I own a store, did I ever tell you that? It’s a lovely store, and in a week it will be something really depressing, like a Baby Gap. Soon, it’ll just be a memory. In fact, someone, some foolish person, will probably think it’s a tribute to this city, the way it keeps changing on you, the way you can never count on it, or something. I know because that’s the sort of thing I’m always saying. But the truth is… I’m heartbroken.

DSC00120

Oakland closes in a month, and truthfully, I’m heartbroken.

-K

Leave a Reply

